25th Annual California
Charter Schools Conference

25th Annual California
Charter Schools Conference
Award Winners

NOMINATIONS ARE NOW CLOSED. Winners will be notified privately in December. Winners will be announced publically at the conference in March.

Hart Vision Award

The Hart Vision Awards, established in 1995, are named in honor of Gary K. Hart, retired California State Senator and former California Secretary of Education. While serving as state senator, Hart sponsored the legislation that established California charter schools.

The Hart Vision Awards will recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to CCSA’s mission to increase student achievement by supporting and expanding California's high-quality charter public school movement.

Goals of the Hart Vision Awards:

Nomination Categories

This year, the California Charter Schools Association is seeking online nominations in two categories:

A teacher or community member/volunteer can be nominated by someone at a member school, or self-nominated with a submitted letter of recommendation. A selection committee of teachers, school leaders and staff will be formed to select the winners based on specific criteria.

Click here for past Hart Vision Winners.

Susan Steelman Bragato Scholarship

The California Charter Schools Association (CCSA) will award ten $2,000 scholarships to high school graduates of CCSA member schools. The scholarship is named in honor of Susan Steelman Bragato, the co-founder of the first charter school in California and the founder of the California Network of Educational Charters (which was renamed the California Charter Schools Association in 2003). Susan was one of the first people to recognize the importance of building a strong network of support among charter school leaders statewide. Susan also organized the first California Charter Schools Conference. In honor of her unprecedented contribution to the charter school movement, the Association named this scholarship for her. Susan died in 2005 after a battle with breast cancer.

Selection Criteria:

Scholarship awards will be payable to the recipient upon proof of his/her enrollment into an accredited four-year or two-year public or private university or college.

Click here for 2017 Susan Steelman Bragato scholarship winners.

Notification of 2018 Award Winners

Award winners will be notified privately in December and will be featured on our website and in the program at the 25th Annual California Charter Schools Conference.

Please contact  if you have any questions about the awards.

The 25th annual conference will be held March 26–28, 2018 in San Diego, CA at the San Diego Convention Center.