Susan Steelman Bragato Scholarship

The California Charter Schools Association (CCSA) will award ten $2,000 scholarships to high school graduates of CCSA member schools. The scholarship is named in honor of Susan Steelman Bragato, the co-founder of the first charter school in California and the founder of the California Network of Educational Charters (which was renamed the California Charter Schools Association in 2003). Susan was one of the first people to recognize the importance of building a strong network of support among charter school leaders statewide. Susan also organized the first California Charter Schools Conference.

Selection Criteria:

Winners will be required to provide proof of their enrollment into an accredited four-year or two-year public or private university or college.


The application deadline is 11:59 p.m. PST Friday, September 27, 2019.

Click here for the 2019 Susan Steelman Bragato scholarship winners.

Notification of 2019 Award Winners

Award winners will be notified privately in December and will be featured on our website and in the program at the Annual California Charter Schools Conference in March.

Please contact if you have any questions.